Venturing into No-Man’s Land – Welcome

Sealing the dealAfter appearing on Al Jazeera’s The Stream and given that The Athefist (one of my other blogs) has wandered away from its original remit of atheism and into broader skepticism, especially of feminism, I thought it might be better to bring that here. This new blog will be concerned with men’s rights and men’s issues, discussing them in a way that’s more for the average guy than the other main options out there.

There really doesn’t exist a place, yet, for men who are neither male feminists (The Good Men Project) or angry activists (A Voice for Men). It is my arrogant hope that this may be the germ of something that grows into that.

My goal will be to find that path between the two and present articles that do more than simply attack feminist ideas, accusations and causes and spends more time looking directly at the issues that men face – though there will be some critique as well. I will try to foster a mutually attentive and respectful place of idea exchange, more like that I experienced on The Stream and less like one would experience on Tumblr.

I don’t know if I’ll post for a while yet. I may reblog some entries from The Athefist which I feel are still pertinent but being involved in the Gender Wars is exhausting and mentally debilitating and I do need to step away from it for a while. It’s also hard to change tack, alter people’s pre-existing perceptions of you and to build an audience for something new. We’ll see how it goes.

People are welcome to submit articles of their own, or to submit counter-articles and posts so long as they’re in the right spirit.

Let’s try and start that conversation.

One thought on “Venturing into No-Man’s Land – Welcome

  1. Good luck with this. A more reasonable and less confrontational and tribalistic approach is badly needed to deal with gender issues. It would be nice to see a move away from the more extreme voices who seem to currently be in charge of all the gender-related debates.

Leave a comment